New Laws for 2019 in California
Each January 1st a wide array of new laws hit the books in California. Below are the new laws/fine amounts for 2019 in California:
SB3: Raises minimum wage from $11 to $12 an hour for employees of businesses with 26 or more employees and from $10.50 to $11 for employees of businesses with 25 or fewer employees.
AB 544: HOV decals. Green and white HOV lane stickers and decals will no longer be valid. Automobile owners now need a red decal.
AB 1884: Straws upon request. If you're at a full-service restaurant and would like to sip your drink through a single-use plastic straw, you'll now have to ask for one. Restaurants can be fined for repeated violations.
AB 485: Pet sales. Requires all dogs, cats, and rabbits sold in California pet stores to be obtained from animal shelters or rescue groups.
SB 1200: Gun Control: Eliminates fees for requesting a Firearms Violence Restraining Order (GVRO) and adds ammunition and bullet drums to the list of items related to firearms that can be confiscated.
SB 1391: Juvenile Justice: Requires that juveniles ages 14 and 15 accused of crimes be tried in the juvenile justice system instead of being prosecuted as adults.
AB 1976: Breastfeeding at Work: This legislation requires employers to make reasonable efforts to provide a room or place for breastfeeding that is not a bathroom.
New fine amounts:
🔳Not carrying driver’s license will now carry a $250 fine.
🔳After 6 days without a change of new address: $230
🔳Passing School bus when lights are flashing: $885
🔳Parking in Bus Lane or Zone : $900
🔳Failure to turn on head lights (30 minutes) before dark: $200
🔳 Tint too dark on door glass: $199
🔳Failing to wear seat belt: $200
🔳Children not wearing seat belts, or not in accordance with Highway traffic act: $599
🔳Car pool Lane violation: $505